Make a difference in your community. Be a PatchWorks Volunteer.

What is PatchWorks?

Make a difference by volunteering – it will give you all the feels, plus there is an awesome shopping discount as a bonus.

How it works

  • Households, regardless of number of members or age, who volunteer for six (6) or more hours per month at an approved PatchWorks Nonprofit Neighbor organization will receive a coupon for 15% off one shopping trip the following month
  • Households who volunteer for twelve (12) or more hours per month at an approved PatchWorks Nonprofit Neighbor organization will receive one additional coupon, for a maximum of two discounted shopping trips per month
  • Households must maintain active and up-to-date ownership with BriarPatch Food Co-op to be eligible
  • Volunteer hours must be performed at an approved PatchWorks Nonprofit Neighbor organization (full list below)
  • Visit each partner’s website to find out what volunteer opportunities are available.

Questions?

Call (530) 272-CO-OP (2667) ext 145.


Choose a PatchWorks Partner:

BEAR YUBA LAND TRUST

Megan Green Wells
Community Engagement Manager
(530) 272-5994 x207
megan@bylt.org

BRIGHT FUTURES FOR YOUTH

Cindy Hintz
Community Engagement Manager
(530) 265-4311
cindyh@bffyouth.org

COLOR ME HUMAN 

Tracy Pepper
Executive Director
(530) 559-4245
tpepper@colormehuman.org

THE FOOD BANK OF NEVADA COUNTY

Megan Calarco
Volunteer Coordinator
(541) 977-9000
volunteerfbnc@gmail.com

FREED CENTER FOR INDEPENDENT LIVING

Courtney Williams
Volunteer Coordinator
(530) 477-3333 x225
courtney@freed.org

GOOD SUN

Vince Lucia
Chief Operations Officer
(530) 913-8972
vince@goodsun.life

GRASS VALLEY DOWNTOWN ASSOCIATION

Marni Marshall
Executive Director
(530) 798-9690
mmarshallgvda@gmail.com

HOSPITALITY HOUSE

Erica Schwanke
Marketing and Content Coordinator
(530) 615-0852
eschwanke@hhshelter.org

INTERFAITH FOOD MINISTRY

Naomi Cabral
Development Director
(530) 273-8132
naomidd.ifm@gmail.com

NEVADA CITY FARMER’S MARKET

Becca Warner
Market Manager
(530) 955-9720
manager@ncfarmersmarket.org

NEVADA COUNTY MEDIA

Stephanie Simpson
Administrative Assistant
(530) 272-8862
stephanie@nevadacountytv.org

SAMMIE’S FRIENDS

Lizette Taylor
Shelter Director
(530) 471-5041
lizette@sammiesfriends.org

Sierra Harvest

Crystal Dossman
Staff Director
(530) 265-2343
crystal@sierraharvest.org

SIERRA STREAMS INSTITUTE

Helen Fitanides
Water Quality Lab Manager
(805) 709-6294
helen@sierrastreamsinstitute.org

SYRCL – SOUTH YUBA RIVER CITIZENS LEAGUE

Daniel Belshe
Community Engagement Manager
(530) 265-5961 x201
daniel@yubariver.org


Frequently Asked Questions

HOW DOES THE DISCOUNT WORK?

The 15% discount on a one-time shopping trip on par with what the Co-op’s Board of Directors.

CAN WE BANK HOURS TO USE FOR FUTURE DISCOUNTS?

No. PatchWorks exists to create active, sustained volunteerism for our Nonprofit Neighbors. Volunteers are not required to work the six hours a month, but they do need to remain active consistently throughout the year.

HOW WILL I KNOW YOU RECEIVED MY HOURS FOR THE MONTH? WHEN DO I GET THE DISCOUNT?

Our PatchWorks Nonprofit Neighbors are trained on a professional volunteer management software and will log your hours each time you work a volunteer shift. BriarPatch staff will process hours and issue the discount coupons on the 1st of the following month.

I ALREADY VOLUNTEER AT MY FAVORITE NONPROFIT. CAN THE TIME I SPEND THERE COUNT?

To earn the one-time discounted shopping trip, PatchWorks Volunteers must volunteer at a qualified PatchWorks Nonprofit Neighbor organization. PatchWorks Nonprofit Neighbors are selected because they closely align with BriarPatch’s Ends Policies and the 7th Cooperative Principle, Concern for Community.

I VOLUNTEER FOR MULTIPLE ORGANIZATIONS. CAN I COMBINE HOURS ACROSS ORGANIZATIONS TO REACH MY MINIMUM MONTHLY REQUIREMENT FOR THE DISCOUNT?

Yes! As long as the nonprofits you volunteer for are approved PatchWorks Nonprofit Neighbors, you can spread your hours out across multiple organizations.

HOW DOES A NONPROFIT BECOME A PATCHWORKS NONPROFIT NEIGHBOR?

BriarPatch Food Co-op invites a small number of nonprofit organizations to participate in the PatchWorks volunteer program as a qualified Nonprofit Neighbor. If you are interested in receiving an application for consideration of future participation, please contact Courtney Tarrant at courtneyt@briarpatch.coop

I’M INTERESTED IN BECOMING PART OF THE PATCHWORKS VOLUNTEER TEAM, BUT I DON’T HAVE A COMPUTER. WHAT DO I DO?

Please call the registration line at (530) 272-CO-OP (2667) x145 to request a physical application.

CAN I PICK UP VOLUNTEER AND NONPROFIT NEIGHBOR APPLICATIONS AT THE CUSTOMER SERVICE DESK?

For the Customer Service Desk to concentrate on the many needs of Co-op shoppers, we respectfully request you call Courtney Tarrant at (530) 272-CO-OP (2667) x145 or find a PDF version of the Volunteer application on our website. Interested Nonprofit Neighbors may contact Courtney directly.